Johnson, Larson Reelected to NDIRF Board of Directors

(Above) Burdell Johnson

(Above) Sonya Larson

Bismarck, N.D. – The over 2,500 North Dakota Insurance Reserve Fund (NDIRF) local government members will continue to be served by board members Burdell Johnson and Sonya Larson.

Johnson and Larson’s reelections occurred in May at the NDIRF’s 2023 Annual Meeting.

“Congratulations to Burdell and Sonya on their successful reelections,” NDIRF CEO Brennan Quintus said. “Given their experience within North Dakota public schools and townships, Burdell and Sonya provide unique insight regarding the coverage and risk management needs of these entity types, helping to ensure NDIRF coverages and operations meet the needs of our diverse membership.”

Johnson was reelected in the “Others” category, which represents all North Dakota local government entities except for cities, counties, and schools. He was first elected to the NDIRF board in 1993.

Johnson holds a bachelor’s degree in education from Valley City State University (Valley City, N.D.) and an MBA from the University of Mary (Bismarck, N.D.). Johnson farms and ranches near Tuttle (N.D.), and he owns an insurance agency as well as serves as president of two additional insurance companies. He has served as board chairman of Atwood Township in Kidder County for the past 20 years.

Larson was elected in the “Schools” category, which represents all North Dakota public school districts. She was first appointed to the NDIRF board in 2021.

Larson is a graduate of the North Dakota School of Banking (Bismarck, N.D.) and holds a business manager certification from the North Dakota School Boards Association (NDSBA). She has served as Kidder County Public School District’s (Steele, N.D.) Business Manager for the past 11 years.

Annually, at least two seats on the nine-member NDIRF Board of Directors are up for election. Members cast votes via mail-in proxies or in-person at the NDIRF Annual Meeting.